Avoid Using This Networking Tactic, It Will “Kill” Your Credibility.

Social media is great! a lot of people use it to learn things and reconnect with long lost friends or relatives. Then, you have a group of people out there who seem to use social media as a way to try and get attention when they haven’t done enough to earn it the right way…..let me explain.
People have a sneaky way of trying to look more important than they actually are on social media. This usually happens after they read a new book or attend a weekend seminar and so now they have some kind of new energy about them and they make attempts at trying to look or sound as if they are so much busier than they have ever been in their life.
You never see posts like this from them, but all of the sudden they are now getting a lot of attention?….WHY?, just because they got back from a motivational weekend? Let me show you a tactic people use and see if you can recognize anyone who has used this in the past. If you see this being done, start calling people out on it.Don-t-be-fooled-People-aren-t-who-they-Post-to-be
 
You ever see someone post this….
“Hey everyone, I have been getting a lot of people asking about my program lately so here is a video link that talks all about it in detail, contact me for details once you watch it”
 
 
OK, you see that post? its a lie! no one is asking “YOU” about anything. This is a tactic that people will use to try and get some type of attention to their brand when they are desperate. If they were speaking the truth here is how that would actually look.
 
“Hey everyone, I have been getting a lot of people asking about my program lately so I’ll drop a link for those people and for anyone else interested in the things that I teach…Here you go (Tag Person), (Tag Person), (Tag Person).
The people you are tagging should be the ones who have been asking about you and your program, that is…..if they actually exist.
 
This is a credibility thing and when you actually add names to your list of interested people, it shows you are not lying and it allows other people to look at those who are interested in you and from there people start making decisions as to whether or not those people’s opinions matter.
 
Why should you care?……If I posted that I have people asking me about my program, it shows that I am in demand, from there I show people who is actually interested in my content by tagging their names. This allows other people on Facebook to look at those people and see if they are kind of like them. If you are similar to these people then guess what?…..maybe you would like some of the information that I offer because you and these other people have a lot in common so instead of just saying “I have people asking me about”…….instead of saying that, BACK IT UP!b82e6d92c587c0743d6aeaffcdcc4e41
 
Leave tagged names for others so people can see what kind of crowd you are attracting matters. It builds trust and I myself have done this. I posted a while back about one of my classes. I hash tagged some names in that post and then I got some texts from people on Facebook saying “I saw your post and I am friends with (Tagged Person) , we are buddies on Facebook so I figured if they liked your class, then maybe I should look into it.
 
This is how I have found most of my students on Facebook. I post things and tag people who actually took my classes and did the work, from there it shows that some “Action” has been going on and maybe people who see that post will come take a look at what I have to offer. Credibility sells itself. Be honest and you will naturally attract more people.
 
See how that looks now? when you actually have people asking about your content, put their names down and tag them. Behind the scenes I send people links if they have shown any interest in content that I have produced. I contact those people directly vs announcing on social media that I am in such great demand from people. Go look at these people’s Facebook feed’s. If their page looks no different than usual, then how is it that they are now getting all kinds of attention when what they have been posting hasn’t changed at all?
This is what people fail to learn, when you try tactics like this, it shows desperation. You can tell who actually deserves new traffic and attention because you will notice on their pages an increase in activity or you will notice them trying new things which could contribute to new people actually being interested in them.
If you see posts like that from people, go see if they have made major changes to how they have been posting over the past few weeks, if its the exact same, CALL THEM OUT! you don’t all of the sudden become in demand if you don’t change how you get attention.53854431
This tactic is being used a lot on social media, it can be presented in many ways, here are a few.
#1. “Hey guys, I have had people asking to see more of my artwork so here is a link for that”
#2. “WOW”, people have been asking me about my new book because they heard it was really good from other people, this link will take you to my page on amazon”
#3. There has been a lot of people asking me about how I get free leads for real estate, I’ll drop a link for a video so you can see just how I do this”
Those three examples are ways to deliver the same pitch, but with just different wording. You can do this for any industry and it is being used a lot because people just don’t know how to gather in the right amount of attention to their brand. When things get tough and your views are not going well, this is a tactic that a lot of people rely on to get some kind of quick gratification and its a bad idea to try and prop yourself up like that when you haven’t earned it.
 
This is a common tactic used by business owners, its (weak sauce) is what it is so the next time you see this type of a post from someone, call them out! because people who are in demand don’t have time to post about how much demand there is for them, they are too busy getting back to those demanding people to even have time for posting that type of thing.
 
Don’t be so starved for attention that you have to use tactics like this to feel better about yourself, try earning attention with your work ethic and knowledge, its a lot more rewarding!

FBCoverB

I have had people ask about this class Masters Class. Contact me on Facebook and I’ll give you their names so you can ask them why they were interested and then you can see if they signed up or not and find out why! (Credibility Matters)

Michael Opolski is an Entrepreneur, Real Estate Investor, Mentor, Music Producer, Blogger, & Author.
Leave a Reply

